Software Review – Alice 2.3

Hey guys!

Welcome to a software review on Alice. Alice 2.3 is a free program aimed towards beginners and learners of programming. It’s meant to teach and help people understand the basics and concepts of programming in the real world. Such languages include Java, C++, and C#.

When I first tried Alice, I felt like I was living in the 1980s. The graphics seems old, sketchy and just out of date. I felt like quitting the program seeing it was a waste of space on my computer. But, after giving it a few tries, I eventually had fun and even a few laughs while making some animations.

Remember how I said the interface seems old and the graphics were a bit sketchy? Well, to me, that’s true. However, if you put those facts aside, you’ll see the interface is actually very useful and simple. For example, my favorite part is the object details area. It’s where you can customize your object and drag blocks of code into the methods area.

That’s another thing I like about Alice, is how easy and organized it is to drag blocks of code and piece them together. They even have some of the different statements used in actually programming. Such as if statements, while loop, and for loop. Just imagine how easy all that is!

One thing I find it really unique though from other programs is the events area. The definition is really in the name itself. There’s a sequential order of events that will happen. It’s almost like your daily that will keep going on forward and start over when it ends.

The last favorite of mine is the variety of objects it has. In other programs, you’d have to recreate the entire object. And I know how painful it could be. In Alice, it has buildings, people, small objects, and so much more. Sure, it could be a bit blurry. But I mean like, your not going to make a $5,000 game out of this. This software is meant to educate you. Not to become Executive Game Designer of EA. However, this software can help you get there.

There is only one thing that really annoys me. It’s the interface. I just can’t stand the fact of how old and outdated it looks. Sure, I guess it doesn’t really matter. Basically, it’s fine and nothing special to it. But, they should redesign the theme to make it more appealing.

That’s all for now though. Hope you guys enjoyed the review. Check out the links below for anything referencing to this post. Rate, comment, subscribe, and I’ll see you guys later!

Official Website

Learning Series

4 thoughts on “Software Review – Alice 2.3

  1. Thank you, I’ve recently been looking for information about this subject for ages and yours is the greatest I have found out so far. However, what concerning the conclusion? Are you certain in regards to the source?|What i don’t understood is in truth how you’re now not actually a lot more smartly-favored than you may be right now. You are so intelligent.

  2. I needed to thank you for this very good read!! I definitely loved every bit of it.

    I have you saved as a favorite to check out new things you post…

  3. I would like to get across my love for your kind-heartedness giving support to people who must have guidance on your subject. Your very own commitment to passing the message throughout became extremely beneficial and have consistently helped many people just like me to attain their objectives. Your informative instruction can mean a whole lot a person like me and much more to my peers. Regards; from all of us.

Leave a Reply

