Software Review – Blender

Good Morning!

I’m back with a brand new software review on Blender. I’ll spend 2-5 minutes explaining about and how I think of the software. Don’t forget to leave a comment once you’ve finished reading and let me know what you think. So, let’s get started.

Blender is a 3D computer graphics software used to make animations, 3D games, and 3D models. The program is developed by the Blender Foundation.

When I first opened Blender, it looks sleek and new. The layout is rather complex and takes a while to master, but it’s all worth it. What’s unique about the software though is that you can change the way the interface of the program runs. By this, I mean you can make it run like Maya, a popular 3D graphics program. So, for those used to using Maya but want to try Blender, you can always change your interaction presets to Maya when you open Blender.

The program also has some layouts already set for you on the toolbar. So, you can change it to a video editing layout, animation, compositing, etc. This is a great way to organize and save your layouts making it easier for you to work on your projects.

What is also nice is the way it lets you sculpt and design architectural objects. It lets you pull and stretch the vertices of the objects and you can literally sculpt your designs as if you’re sculpting with clay. This is by far the most advanced 3D graphics program I’ve ever seen. I mean, it’s really rare to find a program that does that.

Although I’ve had little experience with Blender, I’ve also discovered a few bugs in it. When I was working on an introduction for my school and wanted to add one more text mesh to my other 5 text meshes, it kept freezing. So, I tried downloading the introduction template from online but yet again, it kept freezing when I wanted to add more text meshes. This same bug occurred when I downloaded other templates. I don’t know why this is happening, but I’m suspecting it’s because my computer is way too old to handle this.

However, that’s not the only problem I’ve found. When I finished rendering my animation and imported them into the video editing layout and played the video, all I saw was white. I checked all the settings to see if they were correct and they were. But when I opened the images in other programs they seem to work perfectly fine. I don’t know why it’s like that, but I’m guessing maybe the software doesn’t support .png files. However, the weird thing is, everyone else seems to work perfectly fine and the software actually does support .png files. So that really messes me up.

Overall, I think this is a great software that I highly recommend for game designers, architects, or even just the average computer user. So, don’t forget to check out the links and media below.

Also, remember to read my other reviews and look for some tutorials if you need any help. Make sure you leave a comment to let me know what you think. As for now, see you later!

Official Blender Website
Quickstart on Blender
Blender Tutorials

One thought on “Software Review – Blender

Leave a Reply

